Well shit on toast why not just delete the internet

Bitch about other boards, blogs, sites and such
Eggs Loki
Site Admin

Post by Eggs Loki »

The reality site I've been an admin/writer at for over a decade is being shut down this week.

It started out as a fan-created and fan-run site in 2002. It became very popular. The owner sold it to TV Guide (yes the magazine) in 2007, thinking that it would mean the site would grow and become even bigger.

TV Guide did nothing with the site other than fix it when it broke down.

CBS acquired TV Guide a few years later. They also did nothing with the site except fix it when it broke down. Neither company ever consulted with us or tried to take a hand in running it. We were still a fan-run site, just with mysterious corporate owners.

Without any notice or warning, on Friday our homepage's logo banner was replaced with a JPG announcing that the board would be shut down "next week" and redirected to a community page at TV.com. The communities at TV.com are a joke and are nothing like a threaded message board.

So the forum's available staff (basically me and one other person) has spent the weekend opening a new, nearly identical board at ProBoards and trying to alert the whole membership of the move before the old site suddenly disappears.And any information from the site has to be copied by hand, because we don't have the FTP access to backup/export the whole board.

12 years of work, wiped out like that. As I waste my whole weekend frantically saving posts and articles to Word docs to paste into new threads.

Fuck.

http://www.fansofrealitytv.com/forums/forum.php

Dr Dave

Post by Dr Dave »

That sucks.
"I want to shower you in sugar lumps and take you to the horse dentist."- CaptainWacky

"If you see something, say nothing, and drink to forget."-Welcome to Night Vale
CaptainWacky

Post by CaptainWacky »

Never sell TLBBS to a tv magazine!
Cassie

Post by Cassie »

OMG, I just saw this thread. That really sucks.